Rare and Unreleased @ NIAD

Recently I was invited by Timothy Buckwalter to be part of a curating team searching through the archives of artwork crated by NIAD artists in Richmond, CA. Participating curators include:

John Casey
Heidi De Vries
Cliff Hengst
Kimberly Johansson
Helena Keefe
Phil Linhares
Mike Monteiro
Josue Rojas
Lisa Solomon
Brian Stetchschulte
Canan Tolon
Mark Taylor
John Zurier

The National Institute of Art & Disabilities (NIAD) provides an art program that promotes creativity, independence, dignity, and community integration for people with developmental and other disabilities. We were allowed access to the complete archive which included thousands of works of art. It was such a privilege and honor. I am quite pleased to be a part of this.

We were allowed to access all the flat files and storage areas for ceramics, textiles, works on canvas and paper, and many other materials. It’s such a treasure trove of great work.

It was interesting to see what various artist/curators gravitated toward. I lean toward figurative character work and sculpture. I especially liked the work of David Martin.


Attilio Crescenti, who died in 1987 made these ball point pen works which are especially nice.


Check out the mouth and teeth.


Some of my ceramic selections. I have that purple chicken on reserve.


Jeremy Burleson


Various selections.


I forgot to mention that NIAD has a great printmaking program. The result is hundreds of prints to peruse.


Jeremy Burleson paper sculpture.


Go Raiders!


I liked this head.

The show opens Saturday, April 10th, 2-5pm. I will be there for sure.

1 Response to “Rare and Unreleased @ NIAD”


  1. 1 Audrey A. Crescenti November 5, 2012 at 7:09 pm

    Attilio Crescenti was my great-uncle. Apparently my grandfather’s immediate family had Attilio institutionalized when he was young (Attilio was autistic and deaf). I just found out that Attilio was an outsider artist (thanks internet). Do you know where I can find out more about his works and where they are currently? I was born in 1987 (after he died) and live in northern CA. Thanks, Audrey C.


Comments are currently closed.



My art…

Archives

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 268 other followers


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 268 other followers

