Our Feet Are Stained…

splash239

Hey good readers… you may have noticed I have been blogging less and less over the last several months. After 8+ years (1,500+ posts) documenting my art adventures, the time has come to officially call it a day for this online journal. This blog has been a labor of love for so long, it is hard for me to imagine NOT blogging my various art exploits regularly.

While covering my personal art-making and art exhibitions around the Bay Area with this diary, I have very much come to appreciate how lucky I am. I live in a great city with a ton of great art happenings. I have many artist friends and art appreciators, and just terrific friends in general. That is why I need to make this specific decision to close this blog. I don’t like the idea of a slow, sputtering, prolonged death.

I have been busy these days. I recently had an epiphany with color in my work as some may have noticed. I don’t know if I am going through some sort of mid-life scenario (I just turned 50 a few months ago), but I am achieving more creative clarity and discovery than ever before. This new direction, which includes increasing my commercial projects as well, take a lot of focus. So certain practices, like this blog, have to be set aside.

I hope my friends and readers will understand why I have decided to set this book down. I want to view art with my own eyes and not through a camera. I want to be very present with my own art and the art of others, one-on-one, a very direct experience. I don’t want to worry about getting good photos or enough photos of artwork. Many times I have posted pics that didn’t really convey the true quality of an exhibition. That’s a small negative part of the process, but it’ll be nice to be “off the clock” as well. These are demands I have placed on myself, a kind of creative discipline for years. So now my work is done here.

There are very good online resources for Bay Area art such as Oakland Art Enthusiast, SF Art Enthusiast, Fecal Face Dot Com, Art Business, Stretcher.org, Bay Area Art Quake, Oakland Art Murmur, and many more.

I will post my art stuff occasionally on my Instagram and Facebook like most other folks.

You can subscribe to my personal art mailing list here to be notified of my upcomg exhibitions if you wish.

This blog will remain here as an archive and reference for anyone to view, for the foreseeable future. I want to thank my readers for their loyalty and feedback. You guys are great. I truly thank you!

xoxoxo – John

p.s. I used to watch The Lawrence Welk Show with my grandmother when I was little. I used to think Aufweidersehn during the show finale was “Our Feet are Stained” … good night!

2 Responses to “Our Feet Are Stained…”


  1. 1 Kristi Holohan August 7, 2014 at 10:31 pm

    AWWWWWWWEEEEEEE!!!!!! Will miss

  2. 2 sabpalmares August 7, 2014 at 11:14 pm

    have fun with and enjoy with your new ventures! :) I’m a new follower of yours, its sad to see less good post on my newsfeed but there is still other ways to see your art! good luck!


Comments are currently closed.



My art…

Archives

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 268 other followers


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 268 other followers

