Oakland Art Murmur

rpscrowd.jpg
The crowd at RPS

I was a participant in getting this group of Oakland galleries to work together to be open on the First Friday of the month. I was asked to join and acted as a sort of consultant since I did not represent any particular gallery. Once I felt that my input was unnessesary, I left the group. What started out small has blossomed into a big social/art event each month. A dozen galleries participate. I have yet to go to ABCo but I’ve been to all of the other galleries. The Boontling is always a fav, followed by Rock Paper Scissors. 33 Grand, now closed, was my former fav. May’s Murmur had a couple of standouts…

turner.jpg
Nat Turner’s work at RPS

There was nice work at RPS. I like the folk art styling of the Small Creatures Collective.

teef.jpg

Crystal Morey’s ceramic gold teeth were the bombdiggity. All were sold so I placed myself in the queue for the next round. Oh so rad.

crystal.jpg
The talented Crystal Morey

drinky.jpgAll done, time for a refreshment!

3 Responses to “Oakland Art Murmur”


  1. 1 The Eastsider aka theo May 8, 2006 at 8:52 pm

    Nice pics John! That RPS show was their best in awhile. I’ll have my art murmur coverage up late in this week. Your teeth photo is awesome, better than mine…sigh…Ohhhh…and your input into the Art Murmur was invaluable. You have my deepest felt gratitude for that. Peace,
    theo auer

  2. 2 John Casey May 8, 2006 at 9:51 pm

    Thanks for the kind words Theo! Feel free to use the teef pic.

  3. 3 Amy Manley October 30, 2008 at 1:05 am

    Thanks for contributing to the Murmur and posting your insights. I am looking forward to getting to know the Oakland arts scene.


Comments are currently closed.



My art…

Follow my IG!

I caught up with my old pal Scout in Orinda yesterday. I’m impressed with all his new merit badges and fancy headwear. #art #sculpture #collector #scout

Archives

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 3,082 other followers


