Monster Drawing Rally ’07

The Monster Drawing Rally was pretty amazing. I took a different tact from the Minna drawing event based on some advice I got from a previous participant Casey Jex Smith who said “Make the drawing from scratch and focus on one, kick-ass drawing to finish. If you finish early start a second.” I did one drawing in an hour. Crowds formed around some artists waiting for them to finish so they could try to obtain the drawings as they were transfered to the hanging wall. Once there the drawing is hung and folks, if interested, raise their hands to get the opportunity to draw a playing card. Highest card gets to buy it. Josh Keyes, who was drawing in the last group, had probably 2 dozen folks clamoring for an opportunity to buy his great 2-headed rabbit. It was one of the most intense events I ever attended.








Kyle Ranson‘s work


Poopy Lickles


Brad K. Alder


Susan Chen


Kirk Stoller


Steven Barich


Martha Sue Harris


Josh Keyes

Clamor for Josh’s drawing…


4 Responses to “Monster Drawing Rally ’07”


  1. 1 Steph February 24, 2007 at 2:31 pm

    Did anyone buy your piece?

  2. 2 bunnywax February 24, 2007 at 4:20 pm

    Yes. I had my own fans and there was a high card draw to buy. I was being modest 😉

  3. 3 Jim Kaufmann February 24, 2007 at 4:36 pm

    It looks like a great event and I’m happy both you and Josh Keyes had a queue for your finished work. I also hope that the benefit overall was a great success. With the crowds shown it looks like it must have been. jim

  4. 4 bunnywax February 26, 2007 at 2:47 pm

    Josh was the superstar by far. He seemed so calm and collected but he told me later that we was super nervous. It wasn’t just me then. It was pretty nerve wracking but I’d do it again in a heartbeat.


Comments are currently closed.



My art…

Follow my IG!

Made a buncha coasters during my camping trip. #art #drawing #beermats #coasterart #ink #camping

Archives

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 3,084 other followers


