Swarm Gallery

Stopped by Swarm Gallery to check out paintings by Ricky Allman. Allman is a Mormon and his work is somewhat reminiscent of Casey Jex Smith‘s (also Mormon) work (plus I think they are friends). Is this a coincidence? Anyway, the work is very well executed. I’m digging it quite a bit.
swarm_3.jpg
swarm_2.jpg
swarm_5.jpg
swarm_6.jpg
swarm_7.jpg
swarm_8.jpg

Zachary Royer Scholz sculpts with discarded materials and this sculptures make me laugh (in a good way!). They are somewhat architectural in presence and I believe this theme is the connecting thread with Allman.
swarm_4.jpg
swarm_10.jpg
swarm_9.jpg
swarm_11.jpg
I love this fillet of foam (gallerists Svea and Andrea’s term).

Christine Wong Yap‘s installation in the project space is very cool. Her conceptualist approach is crafty but super minimal.
swarm_1.jpg

Awesome!

3 Responses to “Swarm Gallery”


  1. 1 nancy February 22, 2008 at 1:59 pm

    I’m so glad you put up a video of that piece by Christine. It’s amazing in person and definitely needs to be seen in action.

  2. 2 John Casey February 22, 2008 at 4:29 pm

    Yes it is an impressive work. It does exactly what it is designed to do and generates all kinds of connotations.

  3. 3 Mary Cook February 24, 2008 at 10:57 am

    I came across Casey Jex Smith and his work at a gallery talk at the Drawing Center yesterday afternoon….its a small world— glad to learn of Ricky Allman too!
    🙂


Comments are currently closed.



My art…

Follow my IG!

Hoo r u? #greyowl #art #drawing #ink #coasterart #owl #hoohoo #studiotime

Archives

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 3,083 other followers


