Monster Drawing Rally ’08

mdr_3.jpg
Woah. I thought having worked this gig last year I’d somehow be immune to the intensity of this environment. Although I was a little more relaxed, there is nothing like being immersed in this storm. It’s fun and frightening at the same time sort of like a roller-coaster ride but more my speed. I did a little pre-drawing before which helped a lot. I was able to get two drawings done. Thanks to Mary who was kind enough to brave the crowd and snap some pics.
mdr_1.jpg
mdr_2.jpg
mdr_5.jpg
loomis.jpg
Frederick Loomis

mdr_6.jpg
mdr_7.jpg
Typewriter art

mdr_8.jpg
herschend.jpg
Jonn Herschend and family
herschend2.jpg
mdr_10.jpg

ona-innis.jpg
Cynthia Ona-Innis

mdr_14.jpg
mdr_15.jpg
mdr_16.jpg
schoultz.jpg
Andrew Schoultz

stoller.jpg
Kirk Stoller
stoller2.jpg

mdr_18.jpg
mdr_17.jpg
florez.jpg
Marcela Florez

I sat next to my pal Martha Sue Harris. I think it’s a lot easier to sit with a buddy…
mdr_13.jpg
mdr_11.jpg
mdr_12.jpg
mdr_21.jpg
mdr_23.jpg
mdr_24.jpg
mdr_22.jpg

I met David from Brazil, who collects mostly Brazilian artists, who was able to snag both of my drawings by using, as he described it, “teamwork.” He said my work has parallels with contemporary Brazilian art and I can see that. I wish I had thought to have a pic of him and me together. Ah well.

We acquired this Kirk Stoller… nice!
stoller3.jpg

7 Responses to “Monster Drawing Rally ’08”


  1. 1 MKC February 23, 2008 at 12:39 pm

    It was loud and somewhat overwhelming. You can tell at the end of the video that I’m being jostled by people, as the camera shakes around.

    When John and I were doing business with one of the art-wranglers, Andrew Shoultz’ piece came up for “bidding,” and the crowd literally crushed us into the staff and the wall. I was huddled under the mass of arms reaching out for playing cards (the winner is determined by draw of the high card from a deck). I felt like the proverbial sardine.

  2. 2 Rick February 23, 2008 at 2:02 pm

    That’s totally cool John! I’d love to get one of those going in this area. You’ve given me inspiration! Thanks dude.

  3. 3 Jason Thompson February 23, 2008 at 5:08 pm

    Great post John, nice to see art somewhere is as popular as sports, maybe as dangerous for fans too. Jason

  4. 4 chris lawrence February 23, 2008 at 5:28 pm

    Wow… how intriguing. Thanks for sharing.

  5. 5 Athanasios Paschalides February 24, 2008 at 5:31 am

    I really wish there was a similar project//event here in Greece.

    Nice site by the way.

  6. 6 Tara Foley February 25, 2008 at 10:57 am

    The event was put on by Southern Exposure! We are an art non-profit in San Francisco. This was our 8th annual Monster Drawing Rally. Check us out at http://www.soex.org
    Thanks so much to all the artists and volunteers. Thanks John Casey. I’ve been a fan of your work for sometime.

  7. 7 John Casey February 25, 2008 at 11:34 am

    Thanks Tara. I saw your piece at the Fecal Face Dot Gallery. Nice one! A pic of your work in an upcoming post about the opening of the FF Gallery is coming later today…


Comments are currently closed.



My art…

Follow my IG!

A throwback to 2011, Sweet-Talker, pencil on panel, 14”x11”, 2011. #art #pencil #14x11 #throwback2011

Archives

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 3,083 other followers


