The Rest is Up to You

I just got this book in the mail. From the Amazon listing

Product Description
Like many kids, first-grader Cohen Morano likes to watercolor. What’s different about his paintings is that his father, Aye Jay, sends them out into the world to be added to and altered by a stellar roster of lowbrow artists, children’s illustrators, and street and graffiti artists. The resulting collaborations between Cohen and everyone from Gary Baseman to Shepard Fairey to Paul Frank form a stunning and playful body of work, with a focus on the creativity of childhood.

7 Responses to “The Rest is Up to You”


  1. 1 Jason Thompson September 22, 2009 at 10:35 am

    That looks great book. We call child/parent collaborative drawings scribbles?

  2. 2 theo September 22, 2009 at 10:21 pm

    I like yours best.

  3. 4 Linda September 23, 2009 at 8:05 am

    wow, excellent John!

  4. 6 Walter Tusinski September 23, 2009 at 10:23 pm

    Any idea if the proceeds are being donated to a charity or non-profit of some sort? I would assume a project such as this wouldn’t be profit oriented, but I can’t seem to find any information to the contrary. If the child’s father is reaping all the financial rewards from this endeavor, I commend the man for a genius money making idea. I mean, what artist would not partake in this if asked and deny a child’s youthful aspiration for the arts. Truly genius on the father’s part! And not that the book will sell like hotcakes or anything. But the concept is compelling enough and the artist roster impressive that it has piqued my interest and I’d be intrigued to purchase one just to see it in the flesh. I just hope that the revenue – at least in part – will be donated to a good cause, even if it’s his own sons education.

    • 7 John Casey September 25, 2009 at 4:01 am

      I’m not sure if there’s any philanthropy involved. I should read the forward and get the skinny. I saw it as more of a bigger art project involving many artists and an interesting study on collaboration. Cohen’s dad, Aye Jay Morano, has done other art books like “Heavy Metal Fun Time Activity book” and “Gangsta Rap Coloring Book” and “Indie Rock Connect the Dots.” His blog is here: http://www.ayejay.com.


Comments are currently closed.



My art…

Follow my IG!

My sculptures encased, literally, at @bedfordgallery for the Sweet n Low show. I'm pleased and honored to be amongst so many cool folks. Good to see so many fellow artists and supporters out tonight. Huge turnout and lots of fun. #sculpture #painting #art #drawing

Archives

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 3,082 other followers


