Just Random Stuff


A photo Kerri Johnson took of me with Steuart Pittman’s succulent gift.

I’ve been getting out to view more local art shows lately. It’s something readers of this blog know I enjoy. I have also been having some interesting chats about art in general which is good. I thrive on that sort of thing. Commuting to my studio in the Headlands takes a toll on my time but I certainly cannot complain about that gig.


“Mr. Potter”, 22″x30″, pen and ink, 2010


“Mr. Potter” (detail)

I’ve been getting back into my studio some more this spring. My studio is pretty darn cold but nicer weather and my trusty electric heaters, keep me warm enough.


“Spiders”, 11″x14″, pen and ink, 2010

Basically I am working on drawings for my upcoming show in May at the Webb Gallery in Waxahachie, Texas. Not sure if I will make a cutout or sculpture for this show, but we will see.


“Speed Racer”, 20″x15″, pen and ink, 2009, for the upcoming Lab auction on March 20th.

I am donating various drawings to upcoming auctions in the Bay Area. I think it’s a great way to get your work out there (assuming folks wish to bid on the work). Plus it”s a great way to support local art venues.


“Forget-Me-Knots”, 20″x15″, pen and ink, 2009, for the upcoming Headlands auction on June 2, 2010.

And… the big event coming up is, of course, Southern Exposure’s Monster Drawings Rally. I’m pleased to be invited back for my fourth year. You can see bog post of MDRs from 2007, 2008, and 2009 by clicking on the links of each year. I will be drawing from 8-9pm and I hope to complete two, maybe three smallish (8″x10″) drawings during that hour-long time frame. Come on out if you are local. Every drawing is priced at $60. Such a deal. It’s nuts!!

nuts!

Oh, and I have a 2-person show opening at Galerie Polaris in Paris, France with Casey Jex Smith which opens March 20th. I will probably not be in attendance for this show but I’m sure it will be great.

bearing up
“Bearing Up”, 14″x11″, pen and ink, 2010, available at Galerie Polaris.

Oh, and one more thing… I recently completed a t-shirt design for The Trappist in Oakland, probably my favorite place to get a beer these days. Not sure when the shirts will be printed but I’m looking forward to seeing these shirts “in the real.”

2 Responses to “Just Random Stuff”


  1. 1 obikaufmann February 22, 2010 at 5:16 pm

    go to Paris! you rock buddy.

  2. 2 mkc February 22, 2010 at 8:26 pm

    Nice drawereings and T


Comments are currently closed.



My art…

Follow my IG!

Made a buncha coasters during my camping trip. #art #drawing #beermats #coasterart #ink #camping

Archives

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 3,084 other followers


