R.i.P. Monty

Several years ago, John wrote a lovely tribute to our cat Miss Pickles when she passed on. Now that her buddy Monty is no more, I wanted to say a little about him. – mkc

Monty came to us eight years ago as a starving street cat. He was skinny, dirty, and missing most of his teeth, and his black fur had been bleached to a dried-out rusty color. We named him after Montgomery Burns, because he was thin and had kind of a snaggly expression.

After lots of love, food, and a decent shelter, Monty morphed into a sleek, dark, and handsome ladies’ man. We used to joke that he was “a lover not a fighter” because of his way with the girls. When we adopted Miss Pickles, instead of the usual hissy meeting between unacquainted cats, there were a few minutes of sniffing, and then Monty proceeded to groom her head. He was certainly the gentlest, most even-tempered cat we ever had. There wasn’t a mean bone in his body.

Longtime blog readers may also recall Monty from his brief brush with fame, thanks to the Great Google Freakout of 2007. I won’t recount that whole Internet brushfire here. Suffice it to say that Monty got a lot more online attention then he (or we) ever expected.

Monty had a lot of nicknames. “Old Goat,” “Kitty Cat Bone,” and “Lazarus,” just to name a few. The latter was more recent and due to his spirited fight against both lymphoma and heart disease. Just when we thought he might be down, he’d come back fighting. He didn’t want to quit. Monty was a funny, often goofy, and very cute cat. Recently, a friend described him as having a dry sense of humor. I’d never really though of it that way, but he really did.

As I sit here on this sad but beautiful day, looking at his empty spot by the window being warmed by the sun, I think it was the right day for him to go. He always loved the sun. The photo below shows him sitting right where I am now, on one of his better days. R.i.P my furry friend. We miss you.

9 Responses to “R.i.P. Monty”


  1. 1 lexa April 3, 2010 at 7:38 pm

    oh dears, I am so sorry for your loss. I love the kitty action as well, and know what it means to lose a feline friend or two. Monty, rest in peace. love, lw

  2. 2 jill April 3, 2010 at 8:18 pm

    I’m so sorry, Mary and John.

  3. 3 jill April 3, 2010 at 8:20 pm

    I’m so sorry, Mary and John. What a wonderful, beautiful boy.

  4. 4 mkc April 3, 2010 at 8:36 pm

    Thanks everyone.

  5. 5 Tara April 4, 2010 at 8:23 am

    that is such a sweet tribute; and so sad. it’s a day we all know eventually comes – but when it does, the emptiness left behind…

    so sorry.

    best,
    tara

  6. 7 Mada April 7, 2010 at 6:40 pm

    My heart goes out to the two of you. I was very touched reading this and feel deeply for your loss. If there is a better place after living I’m sure Monty’s got a warm sunny spot with all the perks a cat could ever wish for.

  7. 8 snow April 7, 2010 at 8:58 pm

    what a truly beautiful tribute john


  1. 1 Bufflehead Trackback on May 25, 2010 at 10:04 pm
Comments are currently closed.



My art…

Follow my IG!

Made a buncha coasters during my camping trip. #art #drawing #beermats #coasterart #ink #camping

Archives

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 3,084 other followers


