Record Store Day

Today is Record Store Day (really??). I was trying to remember the first record I ever bought.

I’m pretty sure it was the Beatles 67-70 album. I bought with my brother Paul. John and Paul buying John and Paul. Almost poetic. I think it was 1976. Ah, the Bicentennial! I have a vague memory of an Elton John album being the next one but I couldn’t even guess which one that was. Shortly thereafter, my tastes declined some…

Luckily, my tastes improved shortly after though I remained a Kiss fan (and Kiss Army recruit) throughout middle school. Thank god for Led Zeppelin.

I still know every Jimmy Page riff in my head by heart. MKC is a huge Led Zep fan as well which we discovered when we met. I remember jumping up and down on the furniture playing air guitar to practically the whole Zeppelin catalog in my Mission Hill apartment in Boston. I’m sure the neighbors loved that.

2 Responses to “Record Store Day”


  1. 1 mkc April 17, 2010 at 10:27 am

    So funny. My first purchases were Elton John’s Greatest Hits and Kiss: Destroyer. I had both bought both of those Beatles double-albums, too. I think I got the blue one first and the red one later.

    I bought all of my records at Caldor. I didn’t have a record store. 😦

  2. 2 Rui April 20, 2010 at 3:59 am

    Mine was simply Whitney. I was madly in love with that skinny black young lady. and, strangely enough, she has never disappointed me.


Comments are currently closed.



My art…

Follow my IG!

I have these 4 coaster drawings in this epic show of over 100 artists working on beer mats, aka coasters. So many good works in this show.

La Luz de Jesus Gallery
4633 Hollywood Boulevard
Los Angeles, CA 90027
Phone: (323) 666-7667
Email: info@laluzdejesus.com

September 1 - October 1, 2017
Opening Reception: Friday, Sept. 1st, 8-11 PM

#art #drawing #coasterart #ink #coastershow @laluzdejesus

Archives

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 3,082 other followers


