Stoller, Bernstein, & Hattori @ Swarm

First up we have Kirk Stoller‘s work at Swarm. These hinged assemblages lay flat on the wall or fold up into lively looking sculptures. I mentioned they were pose-able, like action figures and somewhat minimalist. Darren Jenkins of 21 Grand coined the term “post-minimalist, truth to materials, action figures.” I think Kirk paints some of the parts so I’m not sure how “true” all of the surfaces are. Either way, I am really digging these.


Elizabeth Bernstein’s photographs “show the gritty alchemy of human connection, our vulnerabilities, imperfections, and foibles” according to to the press release. I like the immediacy of them.


Taro Hattori has work in the project space. His paper and wood craft objects are really terrific.


My art…

Follow my IG!

W. I. P. #art #sculpture #timelapsevideo #studiotime

Archives

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 3,083 other followers


