Sumi Ink

I’ve been yakking forever about adding some other media to my pen and ink work. Maybe using watercolors, gouache, graphite, acrylic paint, etc. I’ve actually bought most of these things and have finally gotten around to trying just one of these things, sumi ink. I like the way the material creates all of these interesting tones. I will install one of my characters into this piece but I figured I’d share this early foray.

I’m not sure why it has been so difficult to experiment with different media. Years ago I used to do it all the time. I have wound myself up so tight in limited 2D materials over the last few years that it can be stifling. I need to loosen up and I hope some new media will help. Did I mention that I love the smell of sumi ink?

4 Responses to “Sumi Ink”


  1. 1 Artswebshow June 26, 2010 at 1:40 pm

    wow, that produced a really good result

    • 2 John Casey June 28, 2010 at 3:52 pm

      Yes, I am very happy with it so far. I may have to go get some India ink to get some real black blacks but otherwise I enjoying the sumi.

  2. 3 Michele Theberge June 28, 2010 at 3:04 pm

    So what kind of ink do you usually use?

    • 4 John Casey June 28, 2010 at 3:54 pm

      For the black I have been using the Staedler Pigment Liners and for the color stuff the Faber-Castell Pitt Artist Pens. I love the immediacy of the sumi tho.


Comments are currently closed.



My art…

Follow my IG!

I wouldn't count this evil fooker out completely. Back to hate-spewing Breitbart to continue the alt-right shit-stirring. But at least he's out of the White House. #buhbyenow #adios #whitenationalist #diseasedmind

Archives

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 3,083 other followers


