Exquisite Corpse

I’ve been dying to show this exquisite corpse piece I’ve been working on with Obi Kaufmann, Nathaniel Parsons, and Dave Higgins for an upcoming show at Old Crow Tattoo in Oakland.

Old Crow invited me to participate in their “Stand Tall” show opening this weekend. Each artist gets a 9’x3′ space to work with. I had this idea of doing a collaborative piece on panel and the exquisite corpse format seemed like the best approach.

I also thought that making the corpse a two-sided figure that we could flip during the opening would make the project even more interesting. So we worked on both sides.

And yesterday we put all of panels together to see how this Frankenstein came out. I’m pretty happy with this beastie. I’m looking forward to seeing it installed in the space.

JAPANTHER will be headlining the event and performing on Friday night (3/4/11) @ Addis Habana. This will be a very special performance as they are also exhibiting in the show. This will be a rare time to see the artwork of JAPANTHER along with the music.

Mortar and Pestle will be playing @ Old Crow Tattoo and Gallery on Friday along with other surprise guests

Invasive Species feat. Daniel Yasmin and Anchant Futour w/ Sunru will be playing Saturday evening (3/5/11) !!!! Both openings run 8pm-1am. I’m not sure how much time I will spend there but it should be fun.

Old Crow Tattoo and Gallery
362 Grand Ave.
Oakland, CA

Addis Habana
366 Grand Ave.
Oakland, CA

2 Responses to “Exquisite Corpse”


  1. 1 Ronny March 1, 2011 at 2:36 pm

    This is a neat idea. I love collaborations. I have got to get there someday so we can drink a six-pack together. Hope u have a great time!

  2. 2 John Casey March 3, 2011 at 1:20 pm

    Beers it is. I’ll buy!


Comments are currently closed.



My art…

Follow my IG!

These two. Sweater top coming. #studiotime #wip #drawing #art #scuplture #pushmepullyou

Archives

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 3,083 other followers


