Mary’s Germinator Fascinator

Photo by Jeska Françoise

During the Day of the Draw! event at Swarm, Mary wore a terrific hat she made by hand in an homage to my Germinator drawing. Mary wrote a great story for this drawing as well which is in our Call & Response book.

Germinate, Pencil on Paper, 14 x 11 inches, 2010

Here’s Mary Kalin-Casey‘s take on this drawing…

Don’t mind this thing on my head. Really. It’s just something I’m trying to work out. It won’t hurt you, at least I don’t think it will. It seems benign so far. Cropped up one night as I fell asleep. At the time, I rather liked it. At the time, it had potential. Now, I’m not so sure.

This happens on a regular basis, but it doesn’t always work out. I give the thing a little TLC, carry it around for a while. Weed it, feed it, even move it into a pot. Still, sometimes they die. So much for fertilizer.

I’ve been known to over-water the thing. That’ll kill it, too. Orchids are like that. Epiphytes. Give them too much water, it’ll rot the roots, and the plant ends up dying of thirst. Ironic.

Pardon while I adjust my head. This thing keeps on shifting around. It’s like one of those fancy British hats; if you don’t pin it down, it’ll blow away. I wish it were equally fascinating, but I fear it’s not that special.

Others have been quite productive. Once in a while they grow beautiful branches, with healthy leaves and a couple of fruits. Those make excellent presents, and you can even sell them for money. Can you imagine trying to farm these things? It’s hard enough keeping one alive.

I don’t know if this one’s gonna make it, though. It feels a little off-balance, a bit too much for my head. But the flowers are a good sign. I should probably give it more time.

3 Responses to “Mary’s Germinator Fascinator”


  1. 1 ospecaveisR November 5, 2011 at 7:11 am

    things growing on your head in the portugal is not a good thing to keep in mind, notwithstanding, she looks really happy.

  2. 2 ospecaveisR November 5, 2011 at 7:13 am

    skip the “the” in “the portugal”. alcohol is not the best of grammar checking tools.

  3. 3 RONICAAAAA November 5, 2011 at 3:05 pm

    I always knew she was cool. And I haven’t even ever met her. Love that damn smile to match the hat. 🙂


Comments are currently closed.



My art…

Follow my IG!

#wip Castle in the High Man? #sculpture #studiotime #paintingsoon #needamoat

Archives

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 3,082 other followers


