Asheville Fun!

Such a blast I had with my UNC Asheville student pals. The Art Front gang took me out to 12 Bones for some traditional North Carolina BBQ ribs before the big Annual Student Exhibition opening. I’d easily give this joint 4.5 out of 5 greasy finger prints.


Me and some of the AF gang.


Fun at the Lexington Avenue Brewery, post-opening! These guys took me to a number of great local small breweries. Asheville has no shortage of good beer!

On Saturday I rolled out with Ashley Hinceman and Michael Riesch to tour some local Asheville color. Here is a funky community gathering area. Nice use of recycled stuff.

Then it was on to the River Arts District where we stopped into the Flood Gallery. There is a show of Heinz Kossler‘s ceramic work.

I connected with Facebook pal (and now total real-life pal) and self-taught artist Gabriel Shaffer who lives in Asheville. Gabriel shares a huge warehouse space he shares with Sean Pace (aka Jinx).


Jinx’s Chicken Shooter


Photo: Ashley Hinceman


Sean Pace (aka Jinx)


Gabriel Shaffer’s studio upstairs!


The man himself!


Ashley and Michael check out Gabriel’s awesome old letter stash. Gabriel invited us over to his house for dinner later that evening. Good food and good furry company.


Ashley’s new friend big Ned.


Okay, he’s my friend too.


Gabriel has an Andrei Palmer constructed “General Lee” mixed media car sculpture!


Nice!!

I will post up images from the UNCA show in the next day or two.


My art…

Follow my IG!

I have these 4 coaster drawings in this epic show of over 100 artists working on beer mats, aka coasters. So many good works in this show.

La Luz de Jesus Gallery
4633 Hollywood Boulevard
Los Angeles, CA 90027
Phone: (323) 666-7667
Email: info@laluzdejesus.com

September 1 - October 1, 2017
Opening Reception: Friday, Sept. 1st, 8-11 PM

#art #drawing #coasterart #ink #coastershow @laluzdejesus

Archives

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 3,082 other followers


