The Making of a Krampus

Recently I’ve become obsessed with Krampus, the Alpine European folklore devil of Christmas. Basically, Krampus travels the world with St. Nicholas on December 5th visiting boys and girls. Saint Nick bestows treats on the good kids, Krampus beats the naughty kids with a switch and generally terrifies them in various ways. Although there are no kids at The Trappist‘s Kerstbier Fest in Oakland, I figured a bar full of holiday revelers is a good place to debut some local Krampus action. So I made a costume and got my Krampus on. I was going for a sort of fun Krampus vs some of the scarier contemporary versions.

2 Responses to “The Making of a Krampus”


  1. 1 James Kaufmann December 16, 2012 at 5:22 pm

    I have heard from reliable sources that some people (adults mainly) actually like being beaten with a switch. Not that I want to rain on the Krampus Parade or anything …..


Comments are currently closed.



My art…

Follow my IG!

#wip Castle in the High Man? #sculpture #studiotime #paintingsoon #needamoat

Archives

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 3,082 other followers


