Keith Shore Mural at Mikkeller Bar

ksmikkellermural-1

Danish brewer Mikkel Borg Bjergsø of Mikkeller Beer and Chuck Stilphen of The Trappist have partnered up to open the Mikkeller Bar in San Francisco in a few weeks. Philly based Keith Shore, the illustrious illustrator who makes all the art for the Mikkeller labels and such, was looking for a local artist to execute a mural design in the new space. Keith had already completed a lovely mural in the basement tasting room during his last SF visit. So I offered to execute the mural. It’s strange to make (or try to make) another artist’s work, but I think this came out pretty well. I had to use a projector in a large space outside of the bar because the space where the mural is painted is rather tight. So I traced a paper template (18′ x 8′) and transfered the design to the wall 8′ off the floor. The wall was a raw plaster in the old European style so I had no room for error. I was able to carefully shave off my one drip with an x-acto blade and very fine sand paper.

ksmikkellermural-2

ksmikkellermural-3

ksmikkellermural-4

ksmikkellermural-5

ksmikkellermural-6

ksmikkellermural-7

ksmikkellermural-8

ksmikkellermural-9

ksmikkellermural-10

ksmikkellermural-11

ksmikkellermural-12

ksmikkellermural-13

1 Response to “Keith Shore Mural at Mikkeller Bar”


  1. 1 Alex Clemens July 10, 2013 at 11:05 am

    Annnnnnnd … it is glorious.


Comments are currently closed.



My art…

Follow my IG!

So many pins! #pingame #pingamestrong #artpins Tag artists in comments and I will send an eyeballer pin to the most correctly identified.

Archives

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 3,081 other followers


