Finger Brigade (Complete)

Here is the whole process for the sculptures for my upcoming show at Galerie Polaris….

I used 12″ wooden manikins as armatures. I need the hips to be wider to accommodate the Magic Sculp I’m adding. Magic Sculp is a two-part epoxy clay that, once mixed, begins to harden. It’s got a two hour working time before it gets too stiff to apply.

Here are my fellows before “skinning.”

Bulking up the tops of these guys with some tinfoil and duct tape.

Hot-gluing the joints to maintain the pose.

Magic Sculp on the joints adds more structural integrity.

Increasing the footprint. Just keep there figures from toppling over.

The next day, the Magic Sculp is completely stiff. Time for a new layer of “skin.”

Adding some detail…

I need to take a couple of days break from these guys to work on another project. I will be back with another post early next week. It will give me some ideas about rendering the tops which I still haven’t resolved yet….

Still plugging away on these sculptures for my upcoming show at Galerie Polaris.

Phew! I finally finished off these fellows for my show at Galerie Polaris opening on Saturday February 11, 2012. I will be attending the opening and will blog the trip to Paris. Brussels and Bruges will also be on the agenda as well. Should be hella fun!!

"Criss Cross", epoxy clay and acrylic paint, 12.5 x 6 x 4 inches, 2012

"Dumbo", epoxy clay and acrylic paint, 13.5 x 6.5 x 5 inches, 2012

"Tom Thumb", epoxy clay and acrylic paint, 12 x 4.5 x 4 inches, 2012


My art…

Follow my IG!

No Instagram images were found.

Archives

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 3,074 other subscribers